Cholla

This is my 200th post.

When you crunch the numbers, it’s not that exciting. It boils down to about 25 posts a year for the last four years. I have been blogging since the early 2000s, but on many different platforms before I landed at WordPress.

I’d like to announce a contest or something super exciting, but I really don’t have anything to give away. So instead I say, “Thank you for reading, whoever you are.” I know about four of you personally, and I think that’s who visits here anymore. I appreciate it. This is really just a spot for me to vent my frustrations, write what I’m feeling and get it out THERE, wherever THERE is, so I feel a little less burdened emotionally.

I had a busy weekend taking photos of my knits on some models provided by my wonderful friend. I plan to update the Etsy shop and our Facebook page soon, so take a look if you want anything for the holidays. We are offering free shipping.

Then, Honey and I went to the Coastline Festival, which was a two-day festival split between Tampa on the West Coast and our parts on the East. I really am not a fan of the bands who played: Capital Cities (one-hit wonder), Matt and Kim (are they songs or just snippets?), Fitz and the Tantrums (nice but zzzzz) and Passion Pit, to name a few. I went to see the Joy Formidable, a Welsh three-piece with a tiny female singer and guitarist who is like Tinker Bell on the blue meth. Here’s some photos I snapped at the end of their set from the front row:

PicMonkey CollageWell they were really good, and we were in the front, and a mosh pit broke out and there was crowd-surfing, but you know me. I once went to see Circle Jerks AND Suicidal Tendencies back in the day. These children in their ironic Black Flag T-shirts make me laugh, laugh I tell ya!

They had to keep lifting all these teeny white girls over our heads, and the poor beleaguered security crew had to keep pulling them to safety, and once we finally went to stand to the side at the end of the set, I just looked at one of the African-American gentlemen forced into doing this dirty work and said, “White people.” Hey, he laughed and we had a moment.

Other than that…..Well, I’ve been in limbo all week waiting to hear about a job I interviewed for on Monday. I am pretty sure I have the job, but waiting to hear back from this guy is like waiting for the Second Coming, and he’s an Orthodox Jewish man, so maybe I shouldn’t say that? I will not speak anymore on it till I have half a clue.

Besides, it’s only part time, and I am going to literally be scraping by to pay my credit card bills (my fault) and put food on the table, and in the cat food dish. But it is what it is. I had to do something, and the demoralizing job hunt is….demoralizing. I’m overqualified for everything, and filling out forms online that evaporate before I hit submit, and trying to get all my references in a row (one reliable one now lives in a hut on the beach, so he’s out of the question) is just so grueling. I just give up. And you know how well I do with office politics. This job will be just me and him and nature. I hate to tease, but until I know what’s going on, I’d better keep my mouth shut.

AND I’m trying to grow my grey hair out, and at not even two inches I have about 14 different colors going on up in here and I’m about to buy a box of John Frieda foam and say fuck it.

I’ll let you know.

Here’s one of my favorite songs from Sunday night. It’s about a cactus. And nature. And all that deep shit.

About

Buy me a drink, sing me a song, take me as I come 'cause I can't stay long.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Cholla
  1. Toni says:

    Congratulations on your 200th post!! Hopefully this new job will at least be more interesting than the last one, maybe he will let you play cool music while you work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

