About that flesh-eating virus

I’m not sure if I posted here or just in random e-mails to friends, but my philosophy was after losing first the car, then the job, a flesh-eating virus was coming next.

Let me report it has. Yesterday I awoke at 5:30 a.m and started vomiting blood. I was dizzy and nothing would come out but dry heaves and…blood. Thankfully, my husband took me to the doctor (yay for insurance I kept through him and a $20 co-pay) and we discovered I have some nasty virus “all the kids have” and half the schools are emptied because of it — oh, and by the way, it’s highly contagious.

I don’t hang out with any kids, so I’m guessing I got it from the grocery store? Either way, I got two different medicines, am not vomiting blood anymore, so cancel all my Italian opera appearances. I am very hungry after living on ginger ale for 2 days, and have broken blood vessels in my face and eyes from all the wretching.

What a wonderful job candidate I make!

In other news, I finished Kim Hargreaves’ Enchant on Monday night. It is from the book Nectar. I don’t know where I’ll wear it; perhaps my next doctor visit.
frontenchant
sideenchant

2 comments

  1. Toni · February 12, 2009

    I’m so sorry, feel better soon!!! The sweater is lovely.

  2. Jonathan · February 13, 2009

    Not mentioned: The fact that the husband had sciatica AND the cat got sick on the rug.

    Of the three of us, the cat had the best week.

Leave a Reply

