Great Gig in the Sky

Before my blog stats go back down to zero, it’s time to post again. Forgive me, but I’ve been lost in figure skating for the past week. Worlds ’09 took place in L.A. last week, and the skating gods smiled by giving me over 14 hours of coverage on Oxygen. I had to stay up until 2 a.m. some nights, but it was worth it. More on that later.

First, I bring you a 99.9 % finished object.
dscn2770
Why is Chalkhill not done? Well, first I have to handsew the seam of the lace that I handsewed on the sleeves. Which was such a joy and delight (it wasn’t that bad). That means I need to press and fold it in to get a nice finished edge. And frankly, I haven’t felt like fishing out the iron and board.

Second, you’ll note that it’s a) missing one button on the bottom, and you’ll not note, but I do b) the buttons, though charming, don’t work.
dscn2773
Here’s why: they pop out of the buttonholes. I think a flat button will work better, so after rummaging in my mother’s button box, I came up with this compromise:newbuttons
So there you have it, a not-quite-ready-for-Ravelry-project-page project. I can say it does fit well, the fabric from the mystery yarn, once blocked, is soft and pliant, and the short rows I added, which I adapted from the Knotions tutorial (sort of a combination of their way and my way) are just the way I like ’em. Let’s hope today I get my ironing and button sewing mojo on.

Because I will be working on a super seckret project for the next month that will be taking up all my time. It’s a project for pay, and I can’t talk about it, because much like Fight Club, the first rule of super sekret project is you don’t talk about super sekret project. If it came with a hologram of Ed Norton, I would be doubly delighted. But alas, all other things knitting/crochet related must be put on hold to give this my full concentration β€” and frankly, I am a procrastinator, so wish me luck.

On to the skating!

The ISU has done everything possible to kill my beloved sport (yes, for the 900th time, it IS a sport), and yet, I keep coming back like a meth head needing one more tweak. Oh wait, that’s my neighbor across the hall, who’s making quite a racket just now!

Next year is an Olympic year, and my fear is that once that is done and over, we will get no television coverage in the U.S. at all. It was pretty bad this year; you got Nationals and Worlds and that was it β€” the Grand Prix had to be watched on You Tube when you could get it and the USFSA didn’t yank the videos off just because they could. And frankly, I don’t feel like ponying up the money for the Ice Network on my computer just yet. It’s still just as bad as You Tube β€” postage-sized video and all.

And now that Jeffrey Buttle is retired, I don’t have a horse in the race. But still, nothing will keep me up until 2 a.m. on a weeknight like Ice Dancing, AKA BLOODSPORT. And what a sport it was this year. Here are some images of decent costuming amongst the feathers, neon, chiffon and latex. If you look closely, sometimes, you get rewarded.
World Championships Figure Skating
carronjost2
This is the French No. 3 team, Pernelle Carron and Matthieu Jost, doing their charming Edith Piaf free dance. Although Mme. Pernelle needs to seriously attack those dark roots with some L’Oreal, I love his argyle vest, which reminded me so much of Knitty’s Drunken Argyle that I had to look it up again and remind myself that I would never knit it, I swear on La Piaf’s grave.
hat2
I was absolutely in swoons over this cloche that Canadian Vanessa Crone wore in her Ragtime inspired Original Dance. Must. Find. A. Way. To. Copy. That is all!
World Championships Figure Skating
Seriously, how does one learn to do this? Virtue and Moir of Canada, bronze medalists, doing their Pink Floyd routine. Now let me give a disclaimer here: First, I flove their costumes – so simple, so classy, so Dieter on Sprockets! But damn, do I hate me some Pink Floyd. Here’s the thing: if the current world champion French team hadn’t dropped out due to injury, we would have had to listen to TWO dueling “Great Gig in the Sky” routines, and I swan, there are not enough doobies and midnight showings of The Wizard of Oz in the universe to get me through that much Floyd!

(I do like David Gilmour’s solo work, though. Isn’t it ironic?)

If you feel like watching, here’s the routine. Sans commentary, too, so don’t say I never give any gifts! It really is a wonderful, modern dance inspired piece. Please, to enjoy.

2 comments

  1. Gina · March 31, 2009

    i WILL have to watch this at home, but I’m anxious to see the ice dancing. I couldn’t stay awake for it. Maybe I should have booked a flight to FLA and kept you company?

    As you know, I think the cloche is da-voom!

    I want model shots of you in Chalkhill.

  2. Bonnie · April 1, 2009

    Wowee that is some stuff! It amazes me what these people can do on little bladed shoesies.

Leave a Reply

