Diversionary Tactics

My husband returns to work tomorrow after a few days off, and he will be working late the next week or so getting a big project online. I am going to miss our time together, because I think I am never so happy as when we are just together, chilling out.

We spent Friday going to the movies, something we have been doing a lot lately. He usually has Friday and Saturday off, but that will be changing soon. Although he is delighted to now have Saturday and Sunday off, what can I say: when you’re unemployed, ever day is Saturday and Sunday! And I like our Friday matinees. We went to I Love You, Man, as I previously reported, and Jon has decided he would like the “old man sweater” (as dubbed by EW) worn buy Jason Segel. I will see what I can do.

We all love a shawl collar, right?

We all love a shawl collar, right?

And I’m over the whole maudlin topic of my last post. I was really sad on Saturday about not being at the reunion, but then some kind soul posted pictures on Facebook, and at first I realized it was for the best I didn’t go (again with that!). But then I realized one of my oldest and dearest friends DID go, and I got so sad I started crying. So I did something proactive — I wrote her a letter. Whether or not I hear back from her is not in my hands, but I’m glad I took my mind off my troubles and reached out to someone.

I’ve been feeling under the weather otherwise, and have been trying to avoid the joys of my super-secret for pay project. Although I did tackle it, I’m almost at the point where I’ll have to start thinking and doing some MATH. Which means the diversionary projects will have to stop.

Diversionary projects are little doodads I keep making for the Etsy shop. Will they sell? Um, well, I don’t know. But I do like making small projects. I like turning my small yarn leftovers into interesting shapes. Will other people like them? You be the judge.

This is a neck ruff - front. Made from Muench Bolero and Classic Elite Premiere.

This is a neck ruff - front. Made from Muench Bolero and Classic Elite Premiere


This is the back view.

This is the back view.


This is me attempting to look sexy modeling it, and realizing my lipstick is on crooked.

This is me attempting to look sexy modeling it, and realizing my lipstick is on crooked.


This is a pashmina cuff made with the last of my pash (two kinds) and two vintage buttons my friend and former co-worker Nance gave me. Thanks, N.

This is a pashmina cuff made with the last of my pash (two kinds) and two vintage buttons my friend and former co-worker Nance gave me. Thanks, N.


So there you have it. This is what I do whilst watching The Price is Right and Rock of Love: The STD Years.

I also made a capelet in cashmere with a heart lace motif, but I’m not ready to photograph that yet. And my Kim Hargreaves book came today, so huzzah.

But I have a migraine right now and my honey needs to get on the computer, so I have to get off. The computer. Lates, mates.

One comment

  1. Gina · May 19, 2009

    I love the neck warmers! Gorgeous, my dear. Your lipstick looks fine. You have the cutest, bow-shaped lips. Very 1920s.

Leave a Reply

