Black and White

No, not about the alarming shade of my roots. Man, I need to get to the hairdresser AGAIN, but I am so cash poor and my husband is working double overtime shifts this week, so it ain’t happening anytime soon. Damn, damn, damn.

In an effort to be up and perky, I will post about project updates. I did a slight overhaul of the Etsy shop yesterday. I relisted some expired items, and put new photos of them up. I added some new items. I still have about three items to add and a few vintage jewelry finds, and I’ll be at over 30 items. Then, I’m taking a break. I think I have one more item that needs slight finishing and two on the needles/hook, but I have to put them on the backburner until the end of May. I figure, get the shop full, and sit back and see what happens. I wish I could say I was selling, but all I can do is TRY.

The Urban Warrior Scarf

The Urban Warrior Scarf


Made with one bag of R2 Rag, a silver kilt pin and two sizes of hardware store washers.

Made with one bag of R2 Rag, a silver kilt pin and two sizes of hardware store washers.


Yes, it is an easy dropstitch pattern, but it is also 90 inches long, like knitting a T-shirt, and I think it came out how I envisioned it. For the hipstress in all of us.

Yes, it is an easy dropstitch pattern, but it is also 90 inches long, like knitting a T-shirt, and I think it came out how I envisioned it. For the hipstress.


So that’s that. Let me tell you a little about how I have to get these photos done – and I still think they look crappy!

My camera is six years old. In the middle of some shots, it just freezes. Then, I have to get a knife and pry the batteries out to shut it off, because that’s the only way to UNFREEZE it. In order to get the best shot I can, I have to drape a white sheet over my bureau and mirror, which involves standing on the only chair I own and then kneeling on the wood of my bureau, and damned my knees hurt. Not that way, so get your minds out of the gutter. And the sheet keeps falling down. And the light keeps going. Wait, the camera just froze again. And why am I doing this again?

Oh wait, because I have NO JOB AND NO CAR.

Something else in black and white:
dscn2976

This is after the ends have been woven in on ONE hexagon. Fun times.

This is after the ends have been woven in on ONE hexagon. Fun times.


If you were to go to my Ravelry projects page, you would see I was attempting to make the Koigu Modular Skirt from the Winter 2005 Vogue Knitting. It was to be in the black and white and put together/trimmed with the charcoal. Bottom line: I had finished eight of the hexagons. There was no way I was going to finish 19 more. Because a) I didn’t have enough Koigu, and b) I was not going to buy anymore. And I really felt this thing, which was a maxi I was turning into a mini, just wouldn’t look good on me.

Bottom line, I decided to join the hexagons on Sunday. I am weaving the ends in, but this is a project that requires a DVD commentary, not DVD viewing, you understand. Then, I will work three rows of garter around the joined hexagons, and possibly sew a felt backing on it. Voilá, a beautiful belt, I am thinking. To be featured in the shop at a much later date, or for the Rock the Stitch show in the fall.

So that’s it for now. Some black and white stuff. No black and white movies. Just watched Miss Pettigrew Lives for the Day this afternoon and reaffirmed my love of Lee Pace. Sorry honey! This week honey is working beaucoup hours, and I will miss him. We should be spending the day together on Saturday at a big concert event where I will be seeing people from my past who I really don’t want to see (and with black and white roots, to boot) but I suppose I must persevere. I will at least be in the VIP section. I have told honey he must get me an up close and personal meet and greet with David Cook for this to all be worthwhile, you understand.

Next week, we do Kings of Leon. So we’ll be getting our holy rollers on, I guess. I think I’ll wear some form of hat, to cover the rootage.

Leave a Reply

