Books for sale

That got your attention, right?

For any knitters who might have clicked on this blog through my Ravelry page, I just wanted to give a heads up that I am selling some titles on half.com
I go by the same name there as this here blog: tanyadiva.

Some of the titles include:
Inspired to Knit by Michele Rose Orne
Fitted Knits by Stefanie Japel
Vintage Knits by Sarah Dallas
Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmerman
Vogue Knitting (the big VK BIBLE – seriously, a can’t live without book).

All books are in either brand new or good condition, as is noted on half.com. If you’re interested, take a look. I will be adding more in the future. Sorry if you wanted Custom Knits, because I already sold that sucker. I just wasn’t that into it.

I’m not passing on the info because I’m one step away from the poorhouse (I am!) or want your money (that’s gauche!) but I do find that I bought a lot of knitting books, albeit great ones, on a whim, that “gotta have them right away!” itch. And maybe they’re better suited to someone with a different body type, a different sensibility, like, mayhap, you? Look, the Michele Rose Orne book is very new, and very lovely. But I should have seen it has mostly wintery knits and a lot of color work, which I’m…just not that into, before I took the plunge. Live and learn. That has been the lesson the Lord has been POUNDING INTO MY HEAD this year.

Moving on. I am trying to be positive! People want to read positive blogs, with lots of positivity and pictures! I will do what I can. I have less than a month to get some important projects done, so I have been procrastinating. No more! It ends tonight, after The Soup! I swear! Here is a hat that I have finished and simply love – I used some leftover Opal Lang, one of the toughest, slinkiest yarns to work with, but I like the results. It’s totally fun and I call it Preppy Meets Disco – because of the colors and Lurex.
DSCN2978
DSCN2984
DSCN2985
So there you have it. My own little creation, but not quite done, since I have to weave in the ends, and for that I needed to make a trip to Jo-Ann’s to get some Fray-Chek – with yarn this slippery, you really need to reinforce. This hat will be for sale.

Keepin’ in positive!

I also dithered around finished something long-simmering in my bag. Many moons (2005?) ago, I decided I was going to make the modular skirt out of Koigu KPPPM from Vogue Knitting. But I didn’t have enough yarn, can never get any more, and frankly – just, no. BUT, what to do with my finished motifs?

Well, I had eight. Crazy eight. I joined them, then weaved in all the black and white ends. This took hours. Next, I tried doing a garter stitch edging, but didn’t like it. So, using a D hook, I crocheted two rounds of single crochet. I attempted one round of crab-stitch, but that wasn’t pleasing. So, one final round of single crochet going only through the back loop, and I was pleased. It still needs to be blocked. And, I purchased some recycled felt backing (a steal in the remnant rack) at Jo-Ann’s, which I will carefully cut in the hexagon shapes and sew with quilting thread on the back. But I think this is a dual garment – a combo neck piece, but most especially, a belt. Here are some very preliminary photos. I’d love to know what you think.

The ubiquitous Dritz kilt pin. How I love it.

The ubiquitous Dritz kilt pin. How I love it.


This is how I really love it. It's on my body form here, but on the real body, it looks great.

This is how I really love it. It's on my body form here, but on the human body, it looks great.


Again, these are my crappy early morning photos, but I have to say, I am proud of this piece, and seriously, it took hours to do this and I’m not done!

I have firm intentions to list this, and sell it either on Etsy (who knows?) or at the craft fair. I will not price it low, because of the hours of labor. And I think it looks pretty swell.

I’ve done a lot of reading this week, trying to better undertand Etsy, and I realize now that it’s so vast, it is truly difficult to get yourself noticed. I know there are things I could be doing better, and I have to try. Because if I don’t, it’s merely a holding pen for my items. And just waiting until the craft fair in October, which I don’t even know if we’ll get in, is like playing roulette. Without house money.

I also want to start making more experimental items, and continue working in a more organic fashion. Which is another reason I’m selling off my pattern books. I’m also selling my electric guitar and amp, but hey, that’s more for food.

Keep it positive! The next few weeks, I have to finish my project I’m contracted for, and I have some proposals to send in to an editor. This is a great opportunity I stumbled in to, but I can’t talk much about. It’s no guarantee of anything, and certainly no way to make a living wage, but it is a light in the darkness.

I can’t lie and say my inactivity isn’t part of a slight depression. My unemployment will run out sooner than I had thought, and I’m in a panic mode. All I can do is pray pray pray and hope this is all a massive life lesson that I will come out on the other side of, wiser. I’ve decided to take a week off from the Internet, e-mail and Facebook, because I’m doing nothing but wasting time. No one is e-mailing me, so why bother checking the mail? If I’m not looking for a job, it’s useless to be on the ‘Net.

I’ve rambled on long enough. This is not the forum to work out the inner festerings of a troubled, unemployed mind. Last night we went to Miami to see Kings of Leon. They’re my husband’s favorite band. I think he had a great time — press passes meant he got to wrestle in the photo pit. Here’s a photo from the show
DSCF0503
I started crying uncontrollably when they sang “Use Somebody.” I don’t know why. I’ve just been real emotional lately.

That and Allison getting kicked off American Idol. Dammit!

Leave a Reply

