Planogram!

Oh laws, how I procrastinate! This (blogging) is a form of procrastinating, and I will not be doing it again until after May 31. Help me! I am in pattern-writing hell!

What is a planogram, you ask? Why, let me tell you. I have been spending WAY too much time on Ravelry, and stalking a thread on the yarn section retooling of Michaels. Because, yo, that’s all I can afford now, and I can’t go back to where I used to work – not that I’d ever WANT to. I’ve also been physically stalking my local Michaels, which is no fun. When, oh when, will they put their “new” stock in? And will it suck as bad as the old?

Finally, a former “work” friend and I met up on Memorial Day to go to a bead shop and another local Micahels. Where they had restocked! The Ravelry thread had “insiders” from the Big M who kept mentioning a “Planogram” (what the fuck is THAT?) being put in place to restock by June 1. Well, this store finally had it done right. No big surprises, just their new 100% acrylic line called Impeccable (it’s not), lots of Fisherman’s Wool, some new colors in Paton’s Merino, and something new to these here parts – Caron Country and Spa. I bought.

Look, it's 251 yds, a pretty yellow, 75 acrylic and 25 bamboo. Five hanks for under $30. I think I'll manage.

Look, it's 251 yds, a pretty yellow, 75 acrylic and 25 bamboo. Five hanks for under $30. I think I'll manage.


It won’t set the world on fire, and I hope it won’t CATCH on fire, but for what I paid, I think it will do for something from Breeze. On a 5 needle, I can wrangle between 22-23 stitches per inch. As I like to say, it is what it is.

Thanks, planogram! Jon and keep walking around the apartment saying the word at random times.

I also bought some 100% very thin pure white bamboo from an Etsy seller, The Knitting Siren. Very reasonable price, lots of yardage, great customer service. I just wanted something extremely thin and plain to design something for myself somewhere down the road. I find lately I am drawn to a much smaller gauge (28 st/per inch) on a much smaller needle. It will take longer, but I don’t need the bulk or the weight. I’m in my simple period, for myself at least. Thank God for Pay Pal.

And last week, I finally set in the last sleeve of this:

Tide, by Louisa Harding, from Swallowtails.

Tide, by Louisa Harding, from Swallowtails.


More photos on my Ravelry project page, including the fact that I hated the yarn I chose, GGH’s Boulino. Looked great on the ball, knitted for shit.

My right shoulder is killing me, and all the Tiger Balm and heating pads in the world aren’t helping. Which is why writing one damned pattern is what I must do — I have to give the proposal knitting a break. I finished one, and am about halfway through the second. Here’s a sneaky peek:
grey

Hmm. Chunky yarn, cables. Is it any wonder? Debbie Bliss Como — what was I ever thinking when I got this? That’s why I don’t mind using my own stash for proposals. I have plenty of stuff that I don’t mind giving up for the cause, and it was free. It’s funny, I didn’t realize until I was well into this, the second piece, but my three new pieces are either brown, grey or white. I am a little worried. The first one is in Pakucho, and the last is white Cotton Ease with embellishments in Habu Cotton Gima. This is so not like me, to go for the lack of color, but you use what you have when you take something like this on.

Before I go…what else…hubby is taking some days off in a few weeks, and we have a packed slate. Going to see Bon Iver in concert, and also going to a comic book (oh dear…) convention in Miami. We got press passes, and I figure honey can geek out to his heart’s content, and maybe, just maybe we can interview THIS GUY. Cause, like, he’ll be there. Did you know there’s even a Ravelry group for him? I swear, it’s true.

Seriously, there’s a Ravelry group for everything. Even procrastinating would-be designers.

5 comments

  1. Jonathan · May 27, 2009

    Planogram!!!

  2. Toni · May 27, 2009

    A planogram is nothing more than a map of where the stock goes on the shelves. You get these sheets of paper and it tells you put this hook there and that bin here. I worked for a Jo-Anns for three minutes and two of those minutes were spent putting a brand new store together. Putting the store together was fun, dealing with the customers, not so much. We love Bruce Campbell, hope you get to see him.

  3. Gina · May 28, 2009

    Having worked in retail, I am familiar with the planogram. I’ll have to check out my local Micheal’s.

    You — stop procrastinating and get to work. You have tons to do.

  4. Bonnie · May 28, 2009

    Toni – my first job which I kept for three years was JoAnn’s. Little ol’ ladies who quilt can be right little bitches when they want to.

    And Bruce…..BRUCE…….color me jealous.

  5. Toni · May 28, 2009

    There should be a support group for people who used to work at JoAnn’s. I had a woman scream at me because we did not have enough high end fabric choices for wedding dresses. Like I was hiding it in the back behind all the extra fleece and flannel. My absolute favorite were the women who would thrust a ball of yarn in my face and ask me how many of these they needed to make a sweater. They never liked my answer, go figure.

Leave a Reply

