Survey Says…

Briefly:

All you former Jo-Ann workers in the comment section (Bonnie and Toni!) need to form a support group – I am serious. Ladies, I feel your pain, you know I do. Don’t make me relive the joy of such events as the purse dogs who peed on the floor or the crazy Iranian bitch at the yarn barn. The book is coming soon.

I finally finished the pattern I’ve been working on (deadline was TODAY!) and sent it off last night while Jon was stuck at a Matisyahu concert with a bunch of white kids with dreadlocks named “Trevor.” Yeah, mon. Anyway, it’s done until they tell me they want it fixed, repaired, errors corrected, or it sux. FYI, it is a sock pattern, and was hard to do. I can admit it: I am not a sock pattern designer by trade.

Saturday, I finally sucked it up and went to a chiropractor. Here is the news:
The neck region of my spine should be curved, like this:
banana
Instead, it is straight, like this:
wood
I can honestly say there are days when I wonder if my life would be better if I’d never started knitting again, but let’s be honest: it’s my poor posture that’s to blame. So I’m working on it. I haven’t actually knit in a week due to pain, but I have to get back on the horse, since I have three proposals due by June 12th.

Tonight, I am making sure the bathroom is clean, I’ve taken a bath, and any other mundane things are done by 10 p.m. Because it’s the season finale for MY SHOW. My boys!
MYBOYS
If you don’t watch Breaking Bad, I feel sorry for you. Really, I do. I love my Mad Men, but I kiss the hem of my Breaking Bad. Walt and Jesse, I want to cook meth with you, yo. Not really, there are consequences, and I think tonight is gonna be a scorcher with multiple story threads hanging and then I’ll have to wait nine months until it starts again and DAMNED, but hey, Mad Men comes back in August, so thank you AMC!

Finally, I have a busy week next week, including a drug survey I’m doing for my neurologist, which is a great way to make some extra money when you’re unemployed, so they say. I’ll just be doing some journaling about a drug I already take – no big deal.

I also received a call from my mum today. My childhood next door neighbor and friend (a boy) died this weekend, and the funeral is Wed., so I will be going. Same age as me. Suicide. A real tragedy, and a pause for reflection, that is for sure.

3 comments

  1. Toni · June 1, 2009

    I am so sorry about your friend. One of my neighbors had to go to a funeral last week for a ten year old, so sad. I lasted all of four months at Joann’s, and even though I need to find a part time job I’m seriously having trouble talking myself into applying for another retail job. And I don’t think that my experience was particularly horrible. Some of my co-workers told me that working for Michaels was way worse.

  2. Gina · June 1, 2009

    Tanya, I’m sorry to hear about childhood friend. That is so tragic. You have my sympathy.

    Hang in there!

  3. Bonnie · June 2, 2009

    That was a lot of info in one post. Sorry to hear about your childhood friend. Suicide is hard on those left behind. I imagine his family is devastated.

    I am sorry to hear about your curvy neck. Maybe a little yoga would help. I’ll let you know if I come across anything that might help.

    Congrats on finishing the pattern. I wish I was a smidge more talented so we could collaborate on a pattern. 😦 But I am a slow moderately talented knitter. Not quite the maestro with needles that you are.

    And yes Jo-Ann’s…..what a job! It made me fear and dislike little old ladies.

Leave a Reply

