Echo

The Miami Comic-Con was Saturday, and it’s safe to say we’ve finally recovered. In sad news, we didn’t interview or meet Bruce Campbell, because Bruce was charging $20 a pop for the privilege, and were I come from, you pay ME for the honor, not the other way around. Ya heard.

BUT, despite the general mayhem, I did get something out of it. There was a fantastic artist there, name of Echo Chernik. If you have a hankerin’, please take a gander at her Web site and store. She does the most incredible work in the Art Noveau vein, and her work reminds me so much of Alphonse Mucha (natch) that I almost slobbered on the poor dear. We did a little interview with her, and I took a photo.

Isn't she a cutie?

Isn't she a cutie?


If you know me, you know I love a couple of things: Asian cinema, opera, and the art of Mucha and Sargent. So I had to have a poster of hers (really good price – $37.00) of a triptych of opera posters she did for the Connecticut Opera’s 2008 season. Three panels, one of Rossini’s La Cenerentola, one of Puccini’s Tosca, and the last of Mozart’s Abduction from the Seraglio. The final two panels are my favorites, you simply don’t know how much I LOVE Seraglio, and I don’t feel like photographing the poster, so let me show you:
Photo courtesy of Echo Chernik

Photo courtesy of Echo Chernik


Photo courtesy of Echo Chernik

Photo courtesy of Echo Chernik

I hope you like these as much as I do. Looking through her portfolio, I was so impressed with both her her fine art, and commercial work – posters for Lance Armstrong, ad campaigns for Celestial Seasonings, you name it. But she’s concentrating on her paintings now, and heading out with her family to shows around the country. I really admire that kind of spirit.

As for the con itself, I’ll just say this: I’m editing together a minute and a half movie of the freak show parade I witnessed. I truly had no idea what I was in for. I knew folks would be in costume, but I was just NOT PREPARED. And the shitty Miami Doubletree sprung multiple leaks in the rain deluge, so couple that with the stench of sterno and burned weiners in the main conference room and you have a recipe for smell overload.

I did enjoy one lecture I went on Japanese fashion from post-war to modern, but found it sad that most of the people there were pretty ignorant of anything outside of Gwen Stefani’s cultural rape of the Harajuku Girl stereotype. When the lecturer asked if anyone had seen Kamikaze Girls (a pretty well-known movie about a Yankii girl and a Lolita), I was the only one who raised my hand.

Lots of knitting pictures to come as I work my way into the homestretch this week. We went to see The Hangover yesterday, and it was okay, but not as great as I wanted it to be. I wish they had explained the chicken aimlessly roaming around the hotel room at Caeser’s Palace. I found myself very concerned for his future safety.

Chicken.

One comment

  1. Gina · June 10, 2009

    I adore Mucha’s work as well, and I’m now smitten with Echo and her work. Thanks for the introduction!

Leave a Reply

