Moving out of the hat phase…

It’s amazing what happens when I don’t post. I go down from my huge page view of 12 per day to zed. Whoa. What a following I have!

Anyway…

I did a MASSIVE shop update last night and today, and we now have 49 items in the Dreads and Curls stable. I have relisted some of my partner’s lovely items, and with the addition of some of my newer pieces and more vintage jewlery, this will be it until October with the exception of some more things coming in weekly. Not a lot – and I can honestly say it’s time for me to move on from the hats. Belts and some killer tops are coming. More on that later! But for now, collars and such.

This is a direction I'll be taking. A sawtooth lace collar with a vintage pin I simply ADORE. It's for sale now!

This is a direction I'll be taking. A sawtooth lace collar with a vintage pin I simply ADORE. It's for sale now!


This was a weekend project, a diamond lattice scarflette in cashmere tweed. It is from a shipment that was intended for Giorgio Armani's fall 2008 collectoin. That is the absolute truth. Vintage pin, who knows? For sale as well!

This was a weekend project, a diamond lattice scarflette in cashmere tweed. It is from a yarn shipment of a certain company (no names!) that was intended for Giorgio Armani's Fall 2008 collection. That is the absolute truth. Vintage pin, who knows? For sale as well!


And because I couldn't stop myself, another hat, with an incredible pin from the 1970's I stripped of it's finish to give it a better, brighter look. Also for sale.

And because I couldn't stop myself, another hat, with an incredible pin from the 1970s I stripped of it's finish to give it a better, brighter look. Also for sale.

I’m going to make a grand shop announcement TOMORROW, but for the month of July, I’m going to do a BUY ONE HAT, GET THE SECOND HALF OFF SALE. Seriously. These tiny hats need good homes!

In other news, we had a lovely, relaxing fourth with my lovely parnter and her friends and family. Good food and fellowship all around. I’m working this week to make pattern corrections on my sock, and will be reknitting my capelet as well. I’m also applying for real jobs, but no one is calling me for an interview. I think I will shut up about that for now.

In sad news, Jon alerted me to a sports’ story last night that is pretty pathetic. Former U.S. National Ladies Figure Skating Champ and a part-time local resident with family ties down here was arrested and extradited to New Jersey from being at the upper echelon of a meth ring. Nicole Bobek, wha’happen? I know, I know – here it comes. Somewhere, Tonya Harding is sitting and saying, “Damn, ya’ll, maybe they’ll leave me alone NOW!” Truly, the mugshot, which our local gossip columnist put up on our local paper’s Web site (I’m NOT linking it) is all kinds of sad. This former glamour girl, who reminded me so much of my sister, now has cropped brown hair and rings around her eyes. This is not always a pretty sport, folks.

In other news, Christian Lacroix sent out what may be his last couture collection. Here’s a slideshow on Jezebel. Watch it and weep for this lost art. This one is my favorite:
capelet
Seriously, yo, wait until you see the capelet with vents and real fur collar I am working on (fur came from Goodwill). My homage to Lacroix, sweetie.

I think that will be it until tomorrow. I’m sure I’ll have something else to rag on from the velvet cage.

3 comments

  1. Toni · July 8, 2009

    I have been looking for a part-time job off and on for the last six months and I can’t even get an interview for one of those. I’ve known for the last two years that I’m really going to have to suck it up and go back to school and learn how to do something else, it’s an expense that we were hoping to avoid. The problem is the economy in Oregon is so bad that even going back to school wont guarantee me a job in a new field so I’m just in this weird limbo. Nicole Bobek, that is just sad. Wasn’t she considered a wild child in her day? I love your hats/scarves with the vintage pins, fingers crossed that they start selling.

  2. Gina · July 8, 2009

    I love these collars! I can’t wait to see what else you have coming ’round the mountain.

  3. Marce · July 12, 2009

    This new direction pleases me greatly much!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

