Cruelish Summer

My best friend and I went to see 500 Days of Summer this afternoon. Afterwards, we went to Dairy Queen and had Blizzards. I don’t think we’ve laughed so hard together at a single gag in a movie in a long time. I think it was just one of those “in jokes” between us. Maybe the filmmakers have been spying on my private life for years? What can I say. It involves my (former) hearty crushing on Harrison Ford.

Holy shit, I remember record shops! And I MISS them.

Holy shit, I remember record shops! And I MISS them.


So anyway, we had fun. I think a blogger I read earlier this week hit the nail on the head when she said you really have to think about this one for a couple of weeks before you can really DIGEST it. But I did like it. A lot.

I feel so lucky that I got to see L.A. once upon a time. I remember it well, some of the nooks and crannies one-time, never to be seen again friends took me to. The recording studios. The tiny spot for breakfast on Sunday morning. It really can be a pretty city if you seek out the special spots.

And here’s a tip to the screenwriters: Some of us gals have had Ringo as our favorite Beatle for YEARS. So, um, there.

Hey, I got a great knit book over the weekend, even though I couldn’t afford it. I figured it was an early birthday present:

Luxe Knits, by Laura Zukaite

Luxe Knits, by Laura Zukaite


I bought it more for inspiration than for actual pattern crushing (ie, I don’t know when I’ll ever knit with Artyarns again!), and if I can do some scans this week, I will.

But the design concepts and architecture are stunning. I esp. like the use of smocking, herringbone and honeycomb, three things I’m delving into now.

And a couple of America’s Next Top Model’s are in it. That’s Naima on the cover. Hey, it’s also published by the publisher that is publishing the book MY pattern will be in next year. I wonder if I’ll get an ANTM gal….I can dream. Dream small.

By the way, does anyone know where I can get this outfit?
02-christina-hendricks-wallpaper-0909-lg
I would like to seduce my husband after by birthday dinner in it.

Thanks for any tips.

PS: To RACHAEL: That may indeed have been a possum on the head in the Louisa Harding fashion shoot. If you ever meet her, you will understand….

3 comments

  1. Toni · August 5, 2009

    I just wanted you to know that I will be at Sock Summit this weekend. Anything you want me to look at for you? On the one hand I’m really excited about the classes I’m taking on the other hand I’m not sure what level of crazy will be attending. It should be interesting.

  2. amy · August 6, 2009

    oh good…you reminded me just how much i wanted to see this movie! i’ve been so caught up working i forgot:(

    but now i wish we had DQ here in LA- totally want a blizzard!

    xoxo
    amy

  3. Gina · August 15, 2009

    If you find this dress, please let me know…I want one as well.

Leave a Reply

