Vogue Italia and Girls with Glasses

Screwing around in the velvet cage today, playing with rubber cement this morning and slipped stitch fair-isle this afternoon — new stuff for Fall to add to the store. Soon, soon. I can’t wait to get my super huge cabled purses up and running. Those are more of a challenge. I’m in my cable period, it would seem.

Slip-sliding around the Net, you really should take a look at the August 2009 Vogue Italia shoot by Stephen Meisel featuring Linda Evangelista. Love her or loathe her, you have to admit, the pictures pack a punch.

My favorite shot - I believe the sweater is Yohji. And you know how I feel about Yamamoto.

My favorite shot - I believe the sweater is Yohji. And you know how I feel about Yamamoto.

You can check out the full suite here or over at Project Rungay. They always have the scoop.

I want a day where I can go to a library and sit and do nothing but read back issues of fashion mags. Especially foreign ones. I used to do that. When I was in college, I’d read all the 70s and early 80s Vogues on the third floor, and usually pass out on the couch. The Japanese exchange students would find me by closing time, and giggle and point. Something had to wake me up.

I also found this shot from the May Vogue Italia of Eva Herzigova in some kickin’ glasses.
eva
Which reminds me: I have an eye doctor appt. on Monday. Just the usual yearly to make sure I can continue to get my contacts. But here’s the funny thing: Since I lost my job, I hardly wear them at all. It’s mostly my glasses, everyday.

I used to scream in horror if I had to leave my house in glasses, but now, I just don’t mind. I’m okay with it. I WOULD like some new, kickin’ frames, though. But it’s probably an expense I can’t justify come Monday. Mine are gold wire, and I’d love something a little chunkier. WITHOUT a stupid logo – I do not need someone else’s name on my glasses, thank you very much. I guess, though, as I get older, I just feel sexier in my glasses. So there.

Here’s what I’m working on, FYI:

A slip-stitch cowl made to match this vintage butterfly pin. Total Fall colors!

A slip-stitch cowl made to match this vintage butterfly pin. Total Fall colors!


Not the best photo: An original design - reversible cable scarf with handmade pin. I deconstructed a necklace and this is the result.

Not the best photo: An original design - reversible cable scarf with handmade pin. I deconstructed a necklace and this is the result.

Back to work — and hello to all the new readers popping by. There are so many creative spots out there on the Net I love visiting every day, so it’s nice to get a visit back in turn.

2 comments

  1. amy · August 7, 2009

    I dream of those long days in the library too. Somehow I can never find the day. Life!

    I have been talking about just how much I wish I needed glasses for years now- this actually goes back to faking my eye test in elementary school- hoping they would give me glasses. I still don’t have them and I still want them desperately. So, I think you’re lucky;)

    Love the scarf with handmade pin- beautiful!

    • tanyadiva · August 7, 2009

      Thank you kindly! Sadly, my elementary school eye test could not be faked. That’s what sitting in the back of the class gets you…

Leave a Reply

