It’s not all about me…

Had a very nice birthday yesterday with other celebrating (low-key) over the weekend, but we still need to go out for tequila and apple pie at our favorite Mexican joint. Maybe next weekend. And yes, I got new glasses! Will post pics when I get them in two weeks. I am changing my outlook on life in so many ways — the vanity is gone, I feel proud to go around in some kickin’ retro frames and say, “this is who I am bitches, I’m blind!” Aherm.

Hey, it was my birthday, but it’s not all about ME. We’ve been updating our shop, Dreads and Curls, frequently the past few weeks, preparing for our big show in October, and FYI, my partner in crime takes pictures 10 times better than me, and she has some pretty snazzy knitwear, too:
il_430xN.84360409
il_430xN.84358148
She calls this one the Posh Pleats Cowl Neckwarmer, it can be worn multiple ways and she’ll include instructions on how to do so to the lucky owner. I have to tell you, I was at a downtown boutique yesterday, and they had something they claimed was handknit, but I swan a large conglomerate probably paid some poor third-world womyn to make them for pennies — the price was exhorbitant, the quality lacking. Handmade, all the way!

And yes, I’ve been busy, too:

I know, I know, I've gone mad for the butterflies. I guess I was pretty inspired by all the pins Zooey Deschanel wore in 500 Days of Summer...

I know, I know, I've gone mad for the butterflies. I guess I was pretty inspired by all the pins Zooey Deschanel wore in 500 Days of Summer...

By the way, speaking of my beautiful partner in craft, I want to see you rocking you hair like Shoniwa of the Noisettes, Marce. I think you could do it. Laws, I can’t wait to get this CD when it comes out in Sept. I am holding on to my iTunes gift card and it’s KILLING ME!

2 comments

  1. Laura. · August 12, 2009

    oh, i’m loving that noisettes disc so far. . . and happy birthday! i’m liking the butterflies and the neckwarmer–we’ll all be needing them soon enough!

    • tanyadiva · August 14, 2009

      Thanks, sweetie! Nothing like some retro-soul sounds to make you feel good, right?

Leave a Reply

