Death of a movie theatre

I snapped some photos today, gonna send them to a friend in Cali. A theatre five minutes done the street from me, that’s been around since I was in high school, suddenly closed. Not a surprise, but kind of tragic.
theatre1
theatre2
theatre3
Here’s the deal:
This place was where I saw Desperately Seeking Susan in high school with my best (gay) boy friend. We snuck into another movie after. I was wearing a big-ass bow on my head, a mile of rhinestone bracelets, and a black shirt with shoulder cutouts I sewed myself. I still have the vintage scarf I made the bow out of.

During my 20s and 30s, my Cali (now) friend Lisa and I saw every British film under the sun here — Hilary and Jackie, The Governess, you name it. I remember doing a weekend double feature by myself of a Daniel Auteuil flick followed by Peter Bogdanovich’s The Cat’s Meow. In between films, I’d sit at a bench outside, have an ice cream and edit my novel (you know, the one that is still sitting on my hard drive all these years later).

This place used to be in a vibrant strip outlet, but once the main stores relocated two years ago, we gave it matter of months. It’s amazing it lasted 2 years. It had turned into the most run-down shithole you’d ever want to go to, but hell, I still went from time to time. My husband I and saw Spiderman 2 there, and we were the only ones in the joint. Thank God, because I was drunk. Last time we went was earlier this year, to see The Wrestler. Fitting, since that was about a broken down piece of meat, and we saw it in …well, you get the gist. We joked for years the place was a mob-front. The pictures I snapped don’t do the damage inside justice. The sign on the window says “August 16 showing will be our last show.” There is trash in the trash bins that hasn’t been taken out, and half-drunk water bottles littering the counter.

Why am I so nostalgic? Oh, I don’t know. It just sort of represents this whole county. No one seems to care about anything here. I did like this place, since they showed a lot of foreign and independent movies through the years. It makes me sad. This town makes me sad. I want to leave. So, there you go!

In other news, I finished a hat this weekend:

It's just another black cabled hat with a vintage pin. So exciting.

It's just another black cabled hat with a vintage pin. So exciting.


I’m loading that and another item into the Dreads and Curls store and that’s about it until the show in October. We’ve had no sales for a while now, and I can’t see pouring more money into this. When the listings expire, they expire.

And I got my glasses today:

I'm having a really bad hair day.

I'm having a really bad hair day.

Hoping tomorrow is a brighter day!

4 comments

  1. Gina · August 25, 2009

    I really like the glasses! That is so sad about the movie theatre. I feel the same way about a hell hole of a local bar/hotel that is being torn down in September. It makes me very sad when a part of history is allowed languish and die. Even if it’s just our personal history.

    Link to article on Mann’s Hotel.
    http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/09220/989492-57.stm

  2. Mimi · September 18, 2009

    Hi Tanya… we’re neighbors. I live a couple miles down PGA Blvd, west of the “deceased” BMC theater. I used to watch indie and foreign films there all the time…. we film lovers knew it wasn’t going to last long, with no repairs, haphazard maintenance, always iffy as to whether a film would actually be shown, but I’d been going there for 20 years. sniff.

    Where are we supposed to go for a film fix now? The megaplex [you know the one] at Downtown which may have 12 screens, but often nothing at all I want to see? I did kinda like District 9, tho.

    • tanyadiva · September 18, 2009

      Hi Mimi – thanks for the comment! You are correct, I am not holding my breath that Bright Star will come to Downtown at the Gardens. But you never know. The September Issue is there now, so there is hope. I do know one thing – I’ll kill a hobo before I go to CItyPlace.

      I need to get to District 9…

  3. Mimi · September 22, 2009

    Bless Netflix. I can crochet and watch films at the same time [I have a tiny LED table light that clips on my project basket which I keep on the coffee table, unless my hubby joins me for a film. He likes the room very dark when watching DVD’s. I am not as fussy, unless it’s a Russell Crowe film. For him, I want a dark, dark room … with just me and the screen.

    I’ll try to get see September Issue, and maybe (500) Days of Summer up in Jupiter before they’re gone.

    Have you been to the Mos Art Theater in Lake Park? Nothing listed playing for this week in the paper tho, so I fear it may have come and gone, already.

Leave a Reply

