Which is prettier?

This picture from Rolling Stone:
dd
Or this lovely yarn the kind and generous Toni sent me a couple of weeks back?

Pictured: Socks that Rock in Firebird, Blue Moon Fiber Arts Kid Mo in Lovers Leap, and ArtYarns Silk Rhapsody in Fuschia and Pink.

Pictured: Socks that Rock in Firebird, Blue Moon Fiber Arts Kid Mo in Lovers Leap, and ArtYarns Silk Rhapsody in Fuschia and Pink.

I know, it is a tough call. Toni, thanks again, for your lovely gift and note. I have wanted to photograph these for a long time, but the light is really poor here, especially when the rain rolls in every day and it gets dark as a tomb.

FYI, my house smells like Manwich right now. We are on the “van down by the river diet.” Saving pennies!

Back to the yarn (if only I could go back to Jon Hamm/Don Draper….), this will not be used for anyone but me, and not be made for anything to see. Like I’m selling these days at all – um, I’m not. Just a few weeks till the show, so I am working pretty hard to get some last minute items done.

I think I’ll make some scarves, believe it or not. Multidirectional with the ArtYarns, and possibly a triangular with the Socks That Rock. Although I long to knit for myself, the lure of big objects is not what it used to be. So I’m going back to small. It’s just not practical for down here, anyway. Someone ask me how hot it was today. Then, add 100 degrees to that. That’s how hot it was. Who wants a freaking sweater?

One of the things I’m working on is a few bags, including a copy of this Anthropologie bag:
purse
Sadly, I can’t show an image of the back, but it’s a simple ribbed knit in two colors, with a foldover flap, seen here. The trick is cutting up an old scarf or two and putting the shreds on the flap. I’m halfway done with the knitting. It will either be a smashing success or an epic FAIL.

In other news, a bunch of people (or should I say, a bunch MORE people) got laid off from the place of employment where the only employed person in this household works last week. Sadly, I knew some of them, since I used to work there. Though I am relieve we dodged a bullet, one wonders for how long. And I am of course, still jobless. I feel so bad for my friends, and think to myself: as bad as it was for me to lose my job, at least it happened quickly, like a bloody bandage being ripped off. The way this happened was much worse – a lot of waiting and rumours.

It’s hard out there right now. If you have a job, be thankful. I know I would be.

2 comments

  1. Toni · September 9, 2009

    I’m so glad that you are enjoying your gift!!! I’m so sorry about your friends how awful for them. Keeping my fingers crossed for you both.

  2. Gina · September 10, 2009

    That yarn is gorgeous, but Jon Hamm… it’s too close to call. I think I might have to opt for JH/DD. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

