Stitch Rock The Aftermath Part Un

After getting run over by a truck on Saturday (that’s what it felt like!) at Sitch Rock 2009, I’m back and working on a few custom orders. We did great business, and topped our sales of last year. Our booth space was right up front, and we had some wonderful return customers from last year who were looking just for us — and some wonderful compliments. One thing I heard a lot was that our booth and another return seller, Ragamufyn, were favorites. We love her stuff, too, so it’s quite a compliment.

Here are some pictures from the show – and I’ma say it now, peeps — I love my shirt, from the lovely Amy at Every Little Counts (check her out, she does some awesome screenprint shirts that are guaranteed to get you noticed!), but laws, I look FAT!

Me, looking fat. Before the deluge.

Me, looking fat. Before the deluge.


My incredible partner in crime, Marce, rocking a hat I made that is SO BIG, but hey, someone bought it, so there!

My incredible partner in crime, Marce, rocking a hat I made that is SO BIG, but hey, someone bought it, so there!


This is the lovely Amanda, Stitch Rock founder (so we all love her), rocking my Op Art Collar, which she bought. I told her I designed it this spring with her in mind, and it's the truth - I wanted something that would look good on ladies with "sleeve" tats who want to show them off. Voila!
Two happy customers, one wearing my hat on the left, and Marce's on the right. We love happy people!

Two happy customers, one wearing my hat on the left, and Marce's on the right. We love happy people!


If you’re interested in more snaps from the show, here’s a link to a slide show.

I’ll post more tomorrow about why I think we did so well, and what I think it takes to succeed at this type of venue. There’s another fair coming up in December in Sarasota (West Coast of Florida) that I wish we had known about sooner. It’s a possibility at this point, but would be a road trip and getting in this late would also be based on chance. Would it be worth it? Hard to say, but several people told us we’d do well there. It’s a two-day event, in it’s fourth year.

I’ve deposited all my money, and plan to pay a huge chunk on a bill this week. I also have plans to do a little advertising on Craft Cult, and produce some more stuff in hopes that I’ll get some sales for the holidays. My ultimate goal is to make it to the front page of Etsy, but they seem intent on revolving the same 20 knit sellers, so that may be an impossible dream.

In other news, I’m saddened by the tidbit I read today that Knit 1 magazine is ceasing publication. There will be no Winter issue, or any other, for that matter. Although it was derided in its early years, the last two issues had new editors and a new vision, and it really was looking good. But no one knows more than me the fates of the publishing industry in this sad economy. And I was hoping to submit to them. At least I’ll always have my back issues. Until I have to sell them for toilet paper money!

More tomorrow!

One comment

  1. Gina · October 6, 2009

    I’m thrilled that you did so well. My dear, you do NOT look fat.

Leave a Reply

