SCHMATTA

Coming up for air and realizing I’ve not posted in a while. I knit for money now, and that sometimes means 400 or more stitches on the needles for a ruffley scarf for someone else. Money is money.

I just re-watched Slumdog on HBO this morning, and the HBO documentary Schmatta this afternoon. If you have HBO, I highly recommend it!

I used to work for an idiot (we’ve established this!) who called everything schmatta without truly understanding the concept behind the Yiddish word. And I’m not even Jewish, people! But to really see where we’ve been and the jobs we’ve lost, this documentary is an eye opener. I have a confession to make: in all the sturm und drang of this year, I had been contemplating going back to school. I already have my B.A. in English, but I really wanted to go to a design college. I’m not shitting.

But seeing gifted pattern makers, designers, print designers — all who are in the same boat as me, about to run out of their unemployment, taking from their savings, losing their identity — oh well, maybe it’s time for a rethink. This is what happens when we send all the work overseas. That, and sweatshops, children working for .31 cents a day and fires in Bangladeshi factories. I’ll get off my soapbox now!

In my attempt to make things and sell them, I’m having little luck. The custom orders from friends and acquaintances keep rolling in, and for those I’m grateful. But it would be nice if my Etsy shop got some, any notice. Here’s what I’ve added in the past week (apologies if anyone already saw it on Facebook).
DSCF1065
DSCF1068
gold
grey
Sometimes I have to ask myself why I’m doing this, but the answer is simple: if I didn’t, I’d go mad.

I just get so frustrated when I see THE SAME DAMNED THINGS on the front page day after day, including this new trend of taking a bunch of scraps of yarn, taking a ring, putting said strands through, and calling it a scarf.

I mean, really. My cat could do that. Maybe I should get him crafting?

One comment

  1. Gina · October 25, 2009

    Yeah, maybe Ringo needs to contribute to the household. Get that cat working. You seem to be in a somewhat better space mentally.

Leave a Reply

