Chantal and the white vest

Finished the white tennis vest today for my third publication. I don’t feel bad putting a photo up because:
a) Not a lot of traffic here
b) I’ve yet to pop the contract in the mail
c) I’m not sure I like it, and am not sure they will either. This one may be a bust. What say you?

palmbitch

I'm calling this one PALM BITCH. They can call it whatever they want...

We are a Nielson (TV ratings) family this week; but I haven’t turned the TV on all week except to watch DVDs. That will change tonight, but I do things by DVR. Last week I watched Masculin, Feminin — I love Criterion Collection films, especially for Goddard releases. And I love Chantal Goya’s look in this one.

N8ooEi6Ikq3fmo6bvQb7Cyrko1_400

Sadly, I can never rock this look...

Tomorrow it’s Two or Three Things I Know About Her.

And I just found out Mira Nair’s Monsoon Wedding has a Criterion DVD, so that’s worth a rewatch.

Off to the Tweetup in my best 1950s vintage dress, very Joan Holloway. I haven’t sold off all my clothes yet…

6 comments

  1. Toni · October 30, 2009

    O.K. so I’ve looked at it the sweater a couple of times and for the most part I like it. I like the waist shaping/detail, I like the color. I’m assuming that you can wear some kind of tank or cami underneath it right? Which would make it a bit versatile. When I look at this I think that someone younger/thinner/tanner/smaller busted than me would look really cute it it. My big problem with it is the hem, the pom-poms in my opinion kind of push the look from cute to that annoying perky precious look that makes it so hard for me to find anything to wear when I go clothes shopping. A different finish for the hem maybe? I get what you are trying to do, maybe something that looks a bit more sophisticated or maybe give an option to finish off the hem differently? I’m not sure. I hope this helps.

  2. tanyadiva · October 30, 2009

    Toni,
    I appreciate your feedback, so I’ll explain what I was going for. It’s for some entity that’s doing a project on southern knits, this is meant to be a tennis vest, so yes, you can wear something under it.

    You always knit the sample in the smallest size. This is small, natch. There is no way I’M getting in it!

    And the idea was for the oblique rib at the waist to represent the tennis “net,” and the pom poms, which are in fact bobbles, represent the balls.

    Too literal? Too cute? Perhaps. But I submitted a sketch and a swatch, and gave them what I proposed. Is it Palm Bitchy? Yes. But I have to stand by it now. So I sort of do.

    But again, I appreciate the feedback, and I do mean that.

  3. Toni · October 31, 2009

    That totally makes sense to me. Honestly, there is a time and place for even Palm Beach Bitchy, and I think for the most part you have nailed it. It’s just my Pacific Northwest aesthetic kicking in. I’m just glad you didn’t have to put the pom-poms around the chest.

  4. tanyadiva · October 31, 2009

    Thanx. You know, of the three things I’ve designed that haven’t yet seen the light of day (although I did get my nice check from one publishing house, so I know there will be a TW pattern in a book next year in at least one case), I wouldn’t wear ANY of them myself.
    1) a man’s sock. nuff said.
    2) a chunky huge cabled cape. on these tits?
    3) a girly-girl tennis vest. which is more my aesthetic, but stilll.

    Which just goes to show, I will bend any way the wind blows if the money is GREEN.

  5. amy · November 4, 2009

    a tennis vest- seriously cute. … i image a 1960’s jane birkin wandering around in something like this, or me with a tan, on a good flat stomach day.

    chantal goya- isn’t she beyond cute? love her. love godard.

  6. Gina · November 15, 2009

    I give a thumbs up to the tennis vest. I think it’s adorable.

Leave a Reply

