Cyber Monday and an apology

I think blogging has been so hard since my illness. I’d say I’m almost 100% now, but I got into such a habit of sitting on my ass watching the Food Channel incessantly, well, it’s become hard to break.

Thanksgiving dinner was good, and I ate two plates of leftovers today ā€” one for lunch and one for dinner. I think it’s safe to say the 10 pounds I lost when I was sick are probably back.

I spent today putting up some new and older items in the Etsy shop that I hoped might sell before X-Mas. The hats are new, the scarves I finished this summer. I had hoped they would sell at the show in October, but since we’re doing another down and dirty one on December 19, hope springs eternal.

The hats have become my biggest (only?) seller, and I admit, I love picking out vintage pins at thrift stores all over town. If I had my druthers, I’d keep them all and scatter them on a big denim jacket, just like I did in the 80s.

That’s about all I’ve got right now…I’m a little blue, my sister was fired from her job of 12 years last week, and even though we don’t get along and haven’t spoken in almost a year (!?) I do love her and am concerned for her. And my dad is in very poor health, as I discovered yesterday.

I am incredibly thankful for some things, believe me. I quit smoking this year, and I’ve paid off half my debt, despite being unemployed. But I’ve lost so much confidence in myself this year, and simply can’t find a job. I sincerely hope 2010 has something better in store for me, because self-pitying blog posts are becoming so 2009, n’est ce pas?

One comment

  1. amy · December 2, 2009

    first of all..i love the food network too- it’s an easy addiction, so comforting and calming.

    second…love your hats. they look super warm and cozy, and well made to boot.

    third…please don’t loose confidence in yourself. even though we only know each other in this weird world of blogging, i think you are amazing. it’s true this has been a truly crappy year for a lot of us, but 2010 has to get better…right??

    XOXO,
    amy

Leave a Reply

