My education

I know I have become such a lazy, useless blogger, and for that, I apologize.

I want to thank Amy for her kind comments in my last post — back at you, girl, and I can’t wait to get my shirt. I’m taking it on my upcoming vacation.

Depression hurts, and Cymbalta helps, or so they say on that commercial. Is that the one with the wind-up doll? Who knows. I am not someone who is on depression meds, nor do I want to be. My situation has caused depression, though, and the only thing that will cure it is… more cowbell? No. After our holiday trip to Charleston, I am taking out some of my 401K (if I can), taking a hit on early withdrawal, and buying a car. I have been under house arrest without one too long. To all those who live in a big city with big city mass transit, God bless you. I live in mofo Florida, and without a car, can’t even look for temp work.

MOVING ON.

I dragged the husband to An Education yesterday. I liked it, but didn’t love it. I still think, for my money, Bright Star is the movie of the year, and one of my faves of the decade. Yes, there will be a decade retrospective soon. But there was some great vintage fashion, and wait till I show you what I scored before the movie when I can take photos — we’ve been having rainy weather — for $15. You will die.

I think this was my favorite look from the film (sans runny mascara, natch), I swear she is wearing Revlon's Cherries in the Snow lipstick, which I used to wear and recently purchased for nostalgia's sake.


Who doesn't love a little leopard print?


Let me be honest, people. It was all about the Alfred Molina for me. LOVE THAT MAN. If he doesn't get an Oscar nomination, I will cry a river of tears.


Even though Carey Mulligan is being touted for the Oscar (and I do like her, and liked her very much in Little Dorrit, though it looks like she’s starved herself into submission since then), I would have to say my favorite performance in the film was Olivia Williams. But maybe I just have a soft spot for her ever since Rushmore.

I think the point of the movie is basically this: Why get an English degree? Even from Oxford? If you’re a girl, that is. Because what can you do with it besides teach, or go into the civil service? Now, this is set in 1961, but frankly, such is my conundrum today.

So, erm, I was having a hard time with the movie.

What to do, what to do, with my life. Here’s a little tale: My younger sister, who hadn’t spoken to me since last Christmas, got FIRED two weeks ago. My mother was so upset, so I started looking for jobs for her (she has no college degree, but works in a very specific field – vet tech). The second lead I found led to an interview and – gasp, a job.

So, at least the little twerp called me and thanked me, and I guess that’s a start. And my poor, despondent mother won’t have two unemployed daughters for Christmas. But riddle me this, Batman: How come I can find my deadbeat little sister a job and I haven’t even gotten an interview in NINE MONTHS?

At least I did my good deed for the week.

I love everybody! Did that help, God?

One comment

  1. amy · December 8, 2009

    that’s really funny that we both just posted about this film…i really loved it. instant reaction. it usually takes me a few days to process everything before i can say anything critical. but i did- i loved it. i thought carey mulligan was adorable beyond adorable. her smile! but she was 16 and when he picked her up on the side of the road in the pouring rain she looked like a little girl…that’s a little creepy. i could go on, but maybe this comment would start getting waayy to long.

    i agree, alfred molina was awesome. and dominic cooper- such a pretty boy. i just heard orlando bloom dropped out of that part last minute- i’m glad, i like dominic;) what did you think of peter sarsgaard?

    oh, and please show us the secret $15 purchase. i am dying!

    ps…that’s good news about your sister! you will be next:)
    and i wish for a car for you….being mobile is a good thing.

    XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

