The cherry on the sundae of 2009

But first, some pretty: I did the Sugar House Holiday Bazaar (2nd annual, baybee!) at House of Vintage in Delray Beach on Sunday. Here was my table:

All those cabled hats with vintage pins - like a box of Crayolas!


I made pretty good money. Much better than last year, and much better than expected. And it almost didn’t happen.

My partner cancelled at the last minute. Her daughters were in a Christmas play, and I understand — family comes first. But I didn’t have a table, she is the holder of our table. So she brought it over, and my fears were correct: Saturday morning, an hour and half before the show, it wouldn’t fit in my husband’s Jetta.

So MacGyver-ess here put four TV trays together, slapped her blocking board and a tablecloth on top and voilá: instant table.

And now, we were set to leave tomorrow for our vacation to visit my husband’s family in South Carolina. I was excited: My first trip to a yarn shop in forever. Cool weather. And a chance for hubby to be happy.

Last night, his car (our only one) broke down on a busy thoroughfare. We got it started again with the help of a nice samaritan, and to the dealership. Where a nice employee gave us a lift home. All my friends were gone or working, and the dealership’s shuttle van was done for the day.

What we hoped was a dead battery was much, much more, and so, the car won’t be ready and the price is too astronomical to allow us to make the trip anyway.

Every day I ask myself if this year can get any worse, but somehow, it manages to. I am really not that upset, I am mainly saddened for my husband, who rarely gets to visit his family.

I won’t let the disappointments of this year break me. I look forward to rebuilding and reinventing my life in 2010.

But more than that, I look forward to drinking myself into a stupor on New Years Eve. HOLLA!

And for Christmas, we are going to celebrate the way the chosen ones do: A movie and some Chinese food. No disrespect meant. We celebrate all faiths here, so happy whatever you may celebrate! Have a great one, and may 2010 come soon soon soon!

3 comments

  1. Susan · December 23, 2009

    What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger. In the meantime, I like your idea for NYE. It’s what I plan to do. Might even start early. It’s been that kind of year for me too. Hang in there! Happy holidays.

  2. Gina · December 23, 2009

    I don’t even know what the hell to say about the car beyond the obvious — that sucks.

    Will your Christmas Day include Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law by any chance? My holidays (Christmas Eve and Christmas Day) are shaping up to be stupid and filled with in-fighting.

    Happy 2010!

  3. Bonnie · December 31, 2009

    As a member of the tribe, I’d like to welcome you to our wonderful holiday celebrations traditions.

Leave a Reply

