First New Year’s FO

Already posted on Facebook, Ravelry and Etsy. But why neglect this sad corner of the Internets?!

THE BLOOD ORANGE COWL

Although I'd rather go see a double feature of Twilght and Avatar than model these things myself, sometimes, I have no choice.


Cheap sunglasses make everything look better.

I tried to resist the cowl brigade; the open joke seems to be if you want to sell on Etsy, you will make a cowl, an owl or a mustache-thingey. The hipsters like them.

I am not a cowl fan. But I have some chunky weight yarn, I need to make things with it, so here you go. This is an original design, if you want to call it that. I was just goofing around. I made it during two viewings of The Blues Brothers on New Year’s Day. I don’t particularly love that movie, but I do love the musical numbers.

I opted to NOT make pom poms, because I hate pom poms, tassels are the forgotten member of the pom pom family, and I can’t be like everyone else.

So there you go.

In other news, I have my “third-tier” extension of unemployment starting next week. It should last till April. After that, who knows? If I don’t get a job, I am well and truly fucked.

I grabbed an application from Bed Bath and Beyond but haven’t turned it in yet. I don’t want to.

Why? Well, no one flushes the toilets in their bathrooms (it’s true!) which is so gross, and yesterday, when we went to get Jon a coffee mug, it was packed and was like Night of the Living Bubbes.

I am sorry, but to the “friend” who keeps telling me to get a job there, I have one thing to say: If you like it so much, why don’t YOU?

5 comments

  1. Susan · January 3, 2010

    Is BBB the kind of place where they make you clean toilets AND work the floor? I had one of those jobs. It was a “oh, by the way, you have to take turns cleaning the customer’s toilet” kind of job. Owner too cheap to pay somebody to do it. I’m not there anymore. What a surprise.

    Hang in there. Things happen and sometimes they’re good things. You are too damn funny for the universe not to notice.

  2. tanyadiva · January 3, 2010

    Susan,
    I don’t know if they make you clean the bathrooms, not that I haven’t had to do that in retail before – I can handle it, but usually PEOPLE FLUSH!

    Thanks for the kind words. I applied for some jobs last week, tomorrow I really hit the cyber-pavement!

  3. Bonnie · January 5, 2010

    Maybe consider a craft store so that if things are truly heinous you can sniff glue. šŸ˜‰

    Cowls, owls and ‘staches…….so so so true.

  4. Gina · January 5, 2010

    Cowls, owls, and feather fascinators… It’s the hipster triumvirate.

    Happy New Year, my dear. Here’s to a spectacular 2010. I’m being positive for the both of us.

    BTW: What is the Revlon lipstick color of choice? I need to pare down my routine, and I realize that I don’t need a ton of cosmetics. Lipstick, gloss, a bit of blush, and mascara are must haves. Maybe one or two eye shadows for those special nights out… That is it! Oh, and some fragrance from Philosophy.

  5. Tanya · January 5, 2010

    Bonnie – Just say NO to craft stores pour moi.

    Gina – The Revlon lip shad is Cherries in the Snow, but it has blue undertones, so beware if this is no good for you!

Leave a Reply

