French Blue

We’ve had quite a cold snap this past week, and I’m still cold.

I was saddened today to hear of the passing of French director Eric Rohmer. At least HE didn’t make movies about blue people with tails. He made movies about people.

My favorite is Boyfriends and Girlfriends, or L’ami de Mon Amie, if you will. It’s so 1987, so frothy, yet has such a sense of longing.

The last Rohmer movie I saw in a theatre was Autumn’s Tale, at our now defunct arthouse destination, The Carefree Theatre. We miss that old place. All that’s left are a few bricks and the faded Capote poster. I’m serious— it’s still there, mocking us.

I am almost POSITIVE I reviewed this when I was still writing. If I can dig it up, I might scan it in tomorrow.

I think the sad thing about great movies is that you only see them once for the first time. But you can still revisit them. So that’s nice. FYI, I once worked for a nutty history professor in college who was obsessed with Rohmer’s film Claire’s Knee. Make of that what you will.

In other news, I am still making cowls. No one is buying them, but I plan to make two more, to use up the chunky yarn I have and hopefully assuage the Etsy folks’ desire for the dreaded cowl.

Here is this weekend’s photo shoot. I’m getting better at this, even though I’d rather die than see myself photographed.

By the way, the shirt I’m wearing UNDER the monstrous thing is by one of my favorite purveyors of online fashion, Every Little Counts. They just launched their spring line, and it’s wonderful.

Time to feed the cat and mail some packages. I actually DID sell some hats this weekend…

One comment

  1. amy · January 28, 2010

    i am so far behind in my blog reading! i only just saw this picture…looking foxy!

    i haven’t seen either of these rohmer films. why isn’t autumn’s tale on netflix??

Leave a Reply

