Getting ready for Vancouver: Torque

Not Torquemada.

So, I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning, cleaning out of closets, and knitting. I haven’t had time to take photos. It looks like I DIDN’T get that job.
I have kept applying at other places. I haven’t got any calls.

Moving on!

In honor of only FOUR MORE DAYS until figure skating starts (I could seriously pee myself), I will do a different discipline each day. Today, ladiezzzz. Yawn. Ladies bore me to tears, esp. this year. U.S. ladies are untested. Rachael Flatt, our champion, is as exciting as a dirt sandwich, has to be pushed to gain momentum, and sports a Big Love bump in her hair-don’t.

Someone make this girl over - please.


Youngster Mirai Nagasu is more entertaining, but needs to correct her jump technique, and seems to be undergoing that time-honored sorority hazing test of skating to Carmen.

Check, please!

So we are left with the Asian invasion, and a few also rans, including Joannie Rochette from Canada, who my husband can manage to have a crush on if the mood strikes him. If the stars don’t fall from the sky, South Korean Yu Na Kim will win. But if politick and ugly conspiracy rears its head, or if she falls, and if I were in Vegas and wanted to make some book, I’d put my money on Miki Ando of Japan to spoil. And I hate her skating, so I’m just saying.

Here’s a great New York Times video on Kim and her triple-triple jump technique. I can’t even imagine what it’s like to cover 25 feet of ice like that. Whee!

One comment

  1. Gina · February 10, 2010

    I’m looking forward to the start of it all. Listen, I’m buried in snow, so maybe I won’t be able to run off to Vancouver with you for the Olympics.

Leave a Reply

