The interview and what I’ll be doing tonight…

I didn’t want to let today go by without a post. Friends, all less than ten of you, the interview went poorly. As much as I make fun of the “What makes you special?” one of a few weeks back, I can at least admit I did blow that one on a few questions, and I really, really wanted that job. The benefits were crazy good. Also, they place was professional. When they said they would call whethere I did or didn’t make it to the next round of interviews, they actually followed through. I truly appreciated that.

However, here’s what I felt like at this week’s travesty:

Let’s be frank — I feel like Dolly a lot, considering the size of my frontal region, and I also worship Lady D. No shame in that game.

But I felt like I was dealing with Mr. Hart, as the woman I was supposed to be interviewing with drug me into some Dabney Coleman lookalike’s torture chamber. He focussed more on the second page of my resume than the first (stuff I did 20 years ago!), he asked me questions and then didn’t let me answer, and then he wanted me to come around to his desk, lean over him and “fix” his Microsoft toolbar. Which is all well and good, I suppose, except, oh, my bewbs would have been touching his back at that point.

Thanks, but no. And he never told me WHAT the job at his full-service marketing/advertising agency actually WAS, even when I pressed him on it. Just that it was a “From the ground up get your hands dirty” kind of thing. Translation: I want you to do what everyone else doesn’t want to. And he demanded I give him my salary expectations. On the first interview? When you haven’t even told me what I’m going to be doing?

Check, please.

What I’ll be doing tonight, all night. Watching this:

Photo courtesy of Damon Carlton and a Polar Bear


I have never missed an episode of Lost since it debuted in 2004. When I think that was six years ago, I am floored. That was two jobs and an unemployment ago. I can’t say that about any other TV show, ever.

But you know, all these years later….I still really hate Jack and Kate. But I still love Hurley. It’s just something about the big guys!

3 comments

  1. Susan · May 23, 2010

    I think you should have leaned over Mr. Hart, then smacked his face into his monitor. But that’s just me. Hang in there.

  2. Gina · May 23, 2010

    Susan’s idea is great!

    You know I sympathize highly with you. I’ve determined that when it gets to the portion of the interview where I get to ask questions, I’ll let them know that I’ve already researched their company online, but that I’d like to know this: If you were a shapeshifter, which animal would be your “shift” animal, and why?”

    As relevant as the questions you and I have been getting as far as I’m concerned.

    • amy · May 26, 2010

      really????!!!! that’s how it went down? what a cheap tactic! i can’t say that i’ve ever had that problem since i am definitely lacking in the frontal region. but that just sucks. i am so sorry!

      oh, and by the way- now i want you to make me a hat too! i just need to start making more bloody money! must get back to hustling…

Leave a Reply

