Burying the lead

Our A/C went out on Saturday night, and I’m sure it’s blistering hot where you are, but there’s no hot like a South Florida hot. It’s like stepping out into a wet blanket. No breeze, all humidity, esp. with the summer storms.

We endured the hotbox for Sunday and half of Monday, but God and the A/C repairman willing, we are good for a while now. To escape the heat (I’m telling you, we didn’t sleep Sunday night!) We went to the movies on Sunday to see Exit Through the Gift Shop.

It’s all a great put on, and either you like street art and one of its main purveyors, Banksy, or you don’t (I like it). Of course, I like anyone who does album covers for one of my favorite bands of all time, Blur:

I also went to see Ondine last week, as promised, and although it wasn’t as great as I’d hoped for, the cinematography by Christopher Doyle (Wong Kar Wei’s main man) is always a treasure to view, so there was that. And wee little Colin Farrell in an array of Aran sweaters. There was that, too.

So, I have some stuff to do the end of this week and next, because I got the job and start on July 20th. I hope it’s better than I think it will be, and that I get my dignity back. Although I don’t think retail is good for THAT, but well, you know. Being unemployed for 17 months will suck a person’s dignity right out, do you know what I mean?

Thanks to everyone for being so supportive. I think those of you here, and you know who you are, all five of you (!) have been more supportive than my “real life” friends. That’s really saying something. Let’s hope this one is better than the toilet-cleaning closet clinic job I took for a day, alright?

3 comments

  1. Toni R. · July 7, 2010

    Congratulations!!!!! I am so glad that you don’t have to clean toilets. So this is the job at B&N?

  2. Gina · July 7, 2010

    Congratulations! I am very excited for you. Yes, it’s retail, but it’s a bookstore, and I think you’ll be surrounded by some interesting co-workers. Hooray for you!
    Let’s not underestimate the power of Colin Farrell in an Aran sweater.

  3. Susan · July 7, 2010

    My BIL was thinking of applying at B&N, but he’s an asshole. I’m glad you got the job instead. Not that you would have been competing but it seems like some sort of Karmic justice. Would you get into trouble if you sneaked books into the john for some potty reading? Don’t wear a short skirt because that much time on a potty leaves a ring around your thighs. (This is experience talking.) I hope you enjoy your new job. I have a feeling you will bring a much needed sense of humor to the place.

Leave a Reply

