Accentuating the positive

I don’t know when, and I don’t know how, but I want to find a way, and a time, to blog more about positive things. Okay, scratch that. I am just not one of those power of positive thinking people. Never have been, never will be. I am a cynical girl, thank you Marshall Crenshaw for writing a song about me and introducing me to my husband.

But I am a person who gets renewed by certain things. Things that only make me happy, or so it seems. Things that other people, or maybe just the people I work with, could give two shits about. Which is kind of the way it it’s always been. And so it goes.

Anyway. I sit down with stuff I want to say and I never quite end up getting it all out. Plus my husband has Jeopardy blaring in the background and he’s talking to the TV so now I can’t think straight. I guess what I want to say is I have been feeling a little raw lately, and today was especially bad, hell, the whole weekend was. But I got through it.

I submitted a design to Knitscene magazine, and am waiting to hear if I got in. I really don’t think I will, it’s such a crapshoot, but the theme was Swedish music or some such nonsense, and I felt I had a handle on that since the assclown from the music dept. at BN played Youth Novels by Lykee Li about 100 times a day for 12 months straight. No, I’m not joking.

In all seriousness, I went to old BN town on a rainy Saturday b/c there was a book I just had to have. I saw two of my old managers — the ones I actually LIKED, and I talked a bit with both of them. And I told them I was glad things were going well for them (I am) and that I was never cut out for the job, although I did my best and think I did a good job. Because I think I did. I am always a hard worker. One of the managers actually stepped down from her former position and took mine. I was a little shocked, but hey, if I’m being honest, she was better at it than me. I bear no malice. Except for the idiot blonde manager who was still buzzing around the store with her keys jingle jangling. I didn’t say a word to her. Bitch.

See, I can be positive. But I’m no pushover.

Back to that pattern. I was more inspired by Fever Ray, truth be told, and my design is a little avant garde. I don’t know if it will scare the Knitscene ladies.

Actually, the design prospectus asked for “Scandinavian pop,” so I’m sure everyone sent in a Björk swan dress and called it a day.

Wouldn’t you? Egg optional.

One comment

  1. lumay · September 27, 2012

    There’s nothing wrong with being a cynical girl (says self-same). Glad to see you posting again.

Leave a Reply

