The other girls.

OMG. Today at work I had the office to myself. You know what that means. I brought my iPod in and plugged it in to the boombox (yeah, some of us still have those) and listened to WHAT I WANTED TO LISTEN TO.

Look, it’s not like I hate the radio. It’s just that, um, I HATE THE RADIO. Here’s the thing; the radio is not what you remember. The radio used to be programmed by people who didn’t play the same 30 songs at the same time every day. Every. Fucking. Day.

Oh, sure. I can change the channel to the “rock” station. But they do it, too. Oh, you want some country? Yup, they’re guilty as well. I even surrendered to the quiet storm of love jazz for a few days, but hey, it’s the same deal.

Why? Why? People who listen to the radio are most likely in offices. Why make us suffer? Are you trying to make us suicidal or murderous lunatics, Clear Channel? Wait. Don’t answer.

Anyway. The “Sunny” station we have it on plays way too much Stevie Nicks. I mean, I can’t with “Edge of Seventeen” anymore. And ladies, I was a fan back in the day! Except, if I’m being honest, and I am….I was secretly always more of a Christine girl.


I know, I know, me with the nine-minute You Tube videos. But I watch this thing incessantly.

And then there’s my Beyonce problem. It’s not really a problem. It’s just that I like her sister Solange so much better. She gets a shit-ton of shade thrown at her on the Internets, but you won’t hear it from me. Love the new song and video, love the fashion inspiration, and love the natural hair.

So there you go, what you should have learned today – I like being by myself for nine hours.
And clearly, I am not watching the debate.

One comment

  1. Toni R. · October 15, 2012

    Christmas was the worst when I worked in an office. Same songs played in the same order at the same time every day for nearly two months. It never put me in a holiday mood.

Leave a Reply

