Diamonds are forever

Yes, I watched. And it’s Thursday and I’m getting around to this. I swear, I don’t have time to catch a breath anymore. And I kind of hate it?

Also: The more I blog, the more spam I get. Hello London Disco! I don’t know who or what you are, but thanks for the spam.

Onward.

I love grey, so I loved this gown. I don’t think Zoe has ever done poorly – Count me in as one who loved her topiary purple dress of a few years back.

85th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

If I was the size of a pipe cleaner….but no, that will never happen.

I am also a sucker for a mash up of ’20s’ Art Deco fun and Dynasty realness.

85th Annual Academy Awards - ArrivalsIt’s true. The shoulder pads are giving me life.

In the pantheon of “Shit I could actually wear,” I forever give it up to The Queen.

85th Annual Academy Awards - ArrivalsWhen I see Melissa McCarthy in her sad sack dresses, I say, “Why can’t you be more like her?” Come on, it’s not that hard. Make this one black or another color and I would totes wear it.

Do you want to know what makes a man never want to have sexual relations again?

ewMoving on. GET YOUR ROOTS DID, GURL.

Not famous so much on this side of the pond, but I love me some Fan BingBing.

fanYes. Make Queen Latifah’s dress this color and we are talking.

And finally, the only saving grace of the whole sorry night (with the exception of Jacqueline Durran’s Best Costume Oscar):

bassTHIS. The Tigress from Tiger Bay. Dame Shirley, if you’re nasty. And this is for all the Johnny Come Latelys who were all, “That was fab!”

Some of us have Miss Shirl on vinyl. Just sayin’.

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. lumay · March 13, 2013

    I skipped the Oscars. It’s been a few years since I’ve watched, but I always enjoy the post-show fashion round-up.

Leave a Reply

