Mr. Blue Sky

SONY DSC

Please tell us why you had to hide away for so long….

More than four years ago, I found myself unemployed and carless. With a LOT of time on my hands. I’d always wanted to design, so when Sarah (aka The Sexy Knitter) called me and asked if I wanted to send a design proposal into a book The Unique Sheep was working on, I jumped.

I designed two other patterns during my unemployment period, and both came out in book form long, long ago. Finally, after four years, this thing is, too! I admit, I thought it would never see the light of day. But that’s how things go in publishing sometimes. Cooperative Press finally put the book out this month, and it finally made its way onto Ravelry. After I checked every day for four months, of course.

So, there you go. Follow the links above to either buy the book or Ravel it, if you’re so inclined. I’m just glad it’s finally OUT and over with. Now, if anyone asked me a question about getting stuck in the pattern, I would totes have to wing it, because the whole thing is just a whiff of memory at this point. Confession: I didn’t even make a pair for my husband! The pair in the photo was done by the test knitter. As with all socks, I made one and was then DONE.

I am actually NOT going to talk about work today. I wanted to showcase this pattern, and then showcase something unusual I watched last night after work. A short movie by Rodarte featuring their SS2013 collection. And Elijah Wood. And a unicorn.

This one’s for you, Toni.

 

3 comments

  1. Toni · August 16, 2013

    Hooray for getting another pattern published!!! Fingers crossed that no one will have questions about your pattern. I really liked the video, thanks for sharing. It’s kind of nice to see a designer using a different medium to show off their clothing line. Elijah Wood was a nice touch, Tom Cruise on a unicorn would have been awesome though.

  2. tanyadiva · August 16, 2013

    I KNOW, RIGHT? Seriously, they said their inspiration was stuff like The Neverending Story, etc., and no mention of Legend. Seriously? Legend has EVERYTHING. I worship Legend. Legend gives me life. And if you watch the special edition DVD and listen to Ridley Scott’s commentary where he goes on and on about how he spent $5 for a flashlight at the Ace Hardware for his digital effects, you are just like, “Okay, I bow down to you Ridley, you cheap bastard.” EVERYTHING.

  3. lumay · August 25, 2013

    I see a little True Blood in there as well.

Leave a Reply

