Through the years.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m feeling very Kenny Rogers today. Damn, but I miss that man’s chicken and fixings. Seriously. The stuffing and cornbread. Just the best.

Anyway, Stitch Rock was this past Saturday, and it was a successful show for me. I made more than I did last year at Retro Indie (we won’t talk about that) and the 2012 Stitch Rock. Maybe not a fortune, but it’s money I needed for food and such. I don’t get my final paycheck until Wednesday, and it’s just one week’s pay plus my vacation time. I am really down to the nub.

While I filed for unemployment, I can’t claim weeks until Oct. 22. And it’s been made even more confusing than it was the last time I had to this, so grumble grumble grumble. Look, I don’t enjoy this.

But the reason I’m feeling nostalgic (which I’m always feeling lately, thanks Gina!) is because this was probably our last show. I am leaving the door open to do it again, or to do Atomic next year depending on where I am in my life. But I know my friend Marce is pretty done, and no hard feelings. She never said it, but I did last December. I said, let’s do one last one together and go out in style. And so we did!

She has two beautiful daughters, ages 10 and 12, who actually came to the show and helped us this time. And I really think their smiling faces and enthusiasm are what helped me do so well. But Marce has these two beautiful creatures to take care of, and she’s heavily involved in the Cross Fit community and Paleo lifestyle. And really, you have to follow your passion. We will still be friends, we live about 10 minutes apart. And I will always be thankful we met at….you guessed it, the yarn barn where I worked, many years ago, and became friends (even before I started my job there). But it’s time to move on. Selling at craft shows is a young girl’s game, and damn it, I’m tired.

Here are some images of our shows through the years. I always want to remember how much fun it was. I got a little weepy when I said goodbye to some friends we’ve made. Didn’t tell them why. They probably just thought it was my period. It was.

One of Marce's hats, and my collars in the background.

One of Marce’s hats, and my collars in the background.

This is from Saturday. I actually don't hate how I look here, although as ever I am too fat and I hate my freaking hair.

This is from Saturday. I actually don’t hate how I look here, although as ever I am too fat and I hate my freaking hair.

Our second show. I wish I was that weight again. And I actually like my hair. Things to think about....

Our second show. I wish I was that weight again. And I actually like my hair. Things to think about….

This was our second Odd Duck. I was soooo hot that day. And the weight had started to creep on. You have to love my Crip bandana.

This was our second Odd Duck. I was soooo hot that day. And the weight had started to creep on. You have to love my Crip bandana.

My grey caplet (published pattern) in the second Retro Indie show. I have two and have yet to sell them!

My grey caplet (published pattern) in the second Retro Indie show. I have two and have yet to sell them!

Go HERE for a big slideshow of the event. I will tell you, as I have said every year: I go to these things and I feel under-tattooed, and I have a giant one on my forearm. Also, yes, that is Lea Vendetta from Ink Master (one of my favorite shows). And no, I didn’t get to meet her. Oh, I had fantasies of selling her a hat, but she walked by our booth but with her back to us, and I was talking to someone and couldn’t, oh, you know, shout out like a crazed fangirl.

I wish I could really break down why this has been so important to me, but here is the best I can do. We went to the first show with our friend Sarah, aka The Sexy Knitter, before she moved away. And we all said, “We can do this!” And so we did. Seven years of Stitch Rock and we did six. I started it when I was still working at the yarn barn, and it got me through my first year unemployed and three with that shithole BN. And now, one year with my last employer and finally back to another unemployed year. It’s funny how these last six years have shaped me. There was a part of me that said if I could do this full time, I would. But sadly, most people undervalue handmade and want a cheap deal. I’m not cheap. But I am easy….

I will continue to sell on Etsy, and also Instagram. We are sending some stuff to one of Marce’s friends in Austin, Texas, for some modeled shots. I plan to submit a design for next year’s Knitscene. I have to get in their sometime, right?

Don’t be alarmed if I take a few days or weeks off. I am trying to rebuild and focus. I don’t want to take the first crappy job that comes along.

Although if Kenny Rogers wants to get back into the chicken business, I’m always game. Here’s a little something from me and The Dude.

One comment

  1. lumay · October 14, 2013

    Tanya, many hugs and much love as you embark on this next phase! I know it’s been a rough road. Move to Pittsburgh! LOL!

    I think I need a cape. Maybe I need a cape more than I need another hat at this moment.

Leave a Reply

