Photograph (s)

The year is almost over and I am so glad! I have many plans and goals for the new year, but those will come later. Next week. I need to sop of the last of this crap year with a biscuit and feed it to the hogs. Metaphor too gross? Sorry, that’s how I roll.

I have quit my job at the Camp From Hell, so no more will I face the daily prospect of a dozen rabbis in a tiny room. It sounds like a bizarre Woody Allen pron movie, I know. And yet, it was my life for five weeks. No mas! I spent Christmas Even listening to music that was too horrific to be called klezmer (which can actually be fun) piped in a loudspeaker at Defcon Five levels. Was this how I wanted to spend my Christmas Eve? Mais non! But when I got in on Thursday to listen to the answer phone messages, the neighbors who called to complain were even more annoyed than me. Who knew?!

Because I have a tiny bit of a conscience left, I gave notice in a mature way, and said I’d stick around a few days to help ease the transition, no pay needed. Call me crazy but I couldn’t leave them in the lurch. Tomorrow I’ll go in again and spend a few hours with idiot Seth Rogen’s wife, who is actually quite pretty and Australian, and looks like Muriel’s Wedding era Toni Collette, albeit with Angelina Jolie lips. I know! She is quite fetching in her own way. She could do better than idiot Seth Rogen. But I shan’t tell her this.

I start a new job on January 6th, God willing and the creek don’t rise. Please, don’t let it rise. It’s professional, it’s in an office on the fifth floor, and I have a cubicle. I pray it will be normal and I don’t write here complaining every day. I know you pray that, too.

Honey has been working nights the last week, and my car was in the shop (don’t ask what happens when you don’t change your oil in three years. Just – don’t) and my debit card was hijacked in the Target mess, so I’ve been landlocked. Watching a lot of French movies, reading and going through my Dropbox. I’m pretty boring, but there were a few highlights this year. Because pictures make the blog post so much livelier, why not go down memory lane with me?

One of my favorite things I made this year. A simple triangle granny in 1970s' colors.

One of my favorite things I made this year. A simple triangle granny in 1970s’ colors.

A special summer lunch with mom and honey. She always makes us feel so welcome. It's the simple things that bring me joy, like a well-laid table.

A special summer lunch with mom and honey. She always makes us feel so welcome. It’s the simple things that bring me joy, like a well-laid table.

bhRT1S9D2NCpv-cU3izwB0E1CStbE3pQk114Y2bFJ5s

It was a small Christmas for us, and a sad one for me. This is mom's tree, which she gave me. We spent the day before Christmas Eve crying. The bell ornaments are from when she and my dad where a couple in high school.

It was a small Christmas for us, and a sad one for me. This is mom’s tree, which she gave me. We spent the day before Christmas Eve crying. The bell ornaments are from when she and my dad were a couple in high school.

One of those Saturdays in  February after lunch and bloody marys at Howleys when the world seemed big and bold and like I could do anything. Or at least take a picture of a blimp.

One of those Saturdays in February after lunch and bloody marys at Howleys when the world seemed big and bold and like I could do anything. Or at least take a picture of a blimp.

Can you tell I'm obsessed with my hair? No, seriously…..

Can you tell I’m obsessed with my hair? No, seriously…..

Before the grey REALLY started to come in.

Before the grey REALLY started to come in.

Watching my grey hair grow out is a process. This is my Mrs. Robinson brown streak in the front.

Watching my grey hair grow out is a process. This is my Mrs. Robinson brown streak in the front.

Another happy customer at Stitch Rock!

Another happy customer at Stitch Rock!

My epic list of all the pies I could think of, and all the Game of Thrones characters I could think of, which I made during our two-day meetings from hell this summer - meant to brainstorm to help save the company. I was in a massive layoff and now my old boss is writing me for resume tips. You can see how well it worked!

My epic list of all the pies I could think of, and all the Game of Thrones characters I could think of, which I made during our two-day meetings from hell this summer – meant to brainstorm to help save the company. I was in a massive layoff and now my old boss is writing me for resume tips. You can see how well it worked!

Minor league basseball makes the summer better down here.

Minor league baseball makes the summer better down here.

Honey in front a a Tardis at Comic Con

Honey in front a a Tardis at Comic Con

A smaller Comic Con we went to in the Fall. It was dinky, but I love this shot I took of Baby Harlequin!

A smaller Comic Con we went to in the Fall. It was dinky, but I love this shot I took of Baby Harlequin!

A dear friend went to an 80s revival concert in Melbourne, FL and got me this gorgeous hand-dyed yearn from Fresh From the Cauldron. It is named after Molly RIngwald's character in Pretty in Pink, and is the best gift ever!

A dear friend went to an 80s revival concert in Melbourne, FL and got me this gorgeous hand-dyed yearn from Fresh From the Cauldron. It is named after Molly RIngwald’s character in Pretty in Pink, and is the best gift ever!

After "She who will not be named" left the office in the Spring. She left this shelf behind, and I used it in my craft shows. I do not miss the bitch.

After “She who will not be named” left the office in the Spring. She left this shelf behind, and I used it in my craft shows. I do not miss the bitch.

Pumpkin patch at our new church. I am glad I finally found a church where I feel welcome, am not hounded for money (though I am happy to give when I can), and with a pastor who is funny, down-to-earth, and not hung up on stupid, extraneous stuff.

Pumpkin patch at our new church. I am glad I finally found a church where I feel welcome, am not hounded for money (though I am happy to give when I can), and with a pastor who is funny, down-to-earth, and not hung up on stupid, extraneous stuff.

My dad made this, and it's on a table in my mom's house. I am still amazed by his creativity, and miss him every day.

My dad made this, and it’s on a table in my mom’s house. I am still amazed by his creativity, and miss him every day.

I developed a shopping addiction to Target (HAHAHA). I was so depressed at my last job that I'd go there on the way home and blow $200 on things like high heels I will never wear.

I developed a shopping addiction to Target (HAHAHA). I was so depressed at my last job that I’d go there on the way home and blow $200 on things like high heels I will never wear.

The Brad Paisley show we went to for free (honey was reviewing) was surprisingly great. It was hotter than Satan at a barbecue and I cried during the most incongruous song, but that's me.

The Brad Paisley show we went to for free (honey was reviewing) was surprisingly great. It was hotter than Satan at a barbecue and I cried during the most incongruous song, but that’s me.

Sorry these are a little out of order, but you get the idea. And that was the shit year that was 2013!

2 comments

  1. lumay · December 30, 2013

    I started getting misty over the shots of the Christmas tree and thinking of the vintage ornaments from when your parents dated. I send you big, loving hugs. I hope that 2014 brings you joy — and a non-nutty job.

    • tanyadiva · December 30, 2013

      You are not the only one who got misty! It was a very misty week last week. I hope the new year brings….normalcy, too.

Leave a Reply

