My favorite music of 2014 was weird and contained multitudes. Just like me.

I thought I bought a lot more music than I actually did this year! Turns out I just downloaded a lot of free singles off iTunes and ripped a lot of Mozart, Bach and Ricky Skaggs from the library. But since those were two of my money-saving tips, you’re welcome!

Here’s what I downloaded, bought in CD form (if I could have found albums, you know I would have gone there, but the last album on vinyl I bought new was Scarlett Johannson’s Tom Waits’ cover album from a few years back. No, I’m not in love with her, but I do like her singing ventures).

Lullaby and the Ceaseless Roar – Robert Plant

I love Handsome Bob but hate Led Zep. I know, right? I was very saddened to hear his marriage to Patti Griffith dissolved. When we saw them both in concert a few years back, the chemistry on stage was electric. Oh well. I love this album, I love Bob’s appreciation for music from all over the world and across all centuries, and his desire to not relive his past. I think being curious is one of the greatest things a person can be. Jimmy Page, who looks like a too-well preserved Robert Evans crossed with a smoked ham, needs to take notes. As for John Paul Jones, holy shit I met him in a Fort Lauderdale parking lot more than ten years ago. I wish the gent nothing but the best!  Also, Glastonbury is on my bucket list. Before 50. I swear.

Aquarius – Tinnashe

One of the best songs and lyrics of the year…”Pretend.”

Let’s pretend we never met.

A good excuse to play forget.

Damn girl. That’s poetry. For all your west coast dreams….

Stay Gold – First Aid Kit

Omygawd they are so adorable. If Ann And Nancy Wilson grew up in Scandinavia and only listened to Emmylou Harris and wore clothes from Free People, they would be these two sisters. Precious. This is one of my favorite album cuts. In all seriousness, I am sad that they only played Orlando in FL. I so wanted to see them.

This is All Yours – Alt J

There is a song on this album called “The Gospel of John Hurt.” We’re done here, right? Okay, it has the weirdest cover of Bill Withers’ “Lovely Day” tacked on the end. So there. Although I have nothing against “Left Hand Free,” I give you “Every Other Freckle” instead. Because kittens.

Hypnotic Eye – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

How could I leave TP off the list? I couldn’t. Especially when he’s THIS ornery. My friend was at the show this one is taken from. Even though I’ve seen TP dozens of time, I kind of hate her. Being poor is a hoot.

Jungle

If The Brothers Johnson and The Stereo MCs had a baby, it would sound like this. Look it up. “Busy Earnin'” got a little more play, but this is one of my favorite videos of the year. This child is FIERCE.

Kylie Minoque – Kiss Me Once

I like sex when it has a sense of humor. And thus, I give you….”Sexcercize.” A worthy successor to fellow Aussie Olivia Newton John’s “Physical,” wouldn’t you agree? Also, this woman is my age and has survived breast cancer. I love Kylie, and don’t care who knows it. Best elliptical music ever!

2ne1 – Crush

The album I listened most to this year. Why? I don’t know. Because they are like the Korean Spice Girls? Lord Jesus, I don’t know. When I sat in my THIRD job of the year, working with people I’d worked with eight years ago and no one would talk to me, I listened to this on repeat. I kind of wish no one would talk to me where I sit now. FACT: I’ve looked up all the lyrics in Korean and learned to sing them phonetically. I even know what some of the Korean words mean.

Ah hell. One just isn’t enough!

And for my fever dreams of 1979, I present my favorite video of the year, and a few words on it,

here

and here.

Xanadu crossed with Lost Highway. Indeed.

2 comments

  1. Gina · January 10, 2015

    Kylie’s use of autotune bother me. She can sing; why use it?
    That said, I would kill someone to have her body.

    • tanyadiva · January 11, 2015

      I know the auto tune is a little too much, but for the gym, I am not picky. And yes, I would KILL to have that body!

Leave a Reply

