Answers from the Velvet Cage

I just got back from the comic store, the hair salon (where we got my man’s hair did), the Costco, where we walked out in frustration, and the Barnes and Noble. I see the darling Gina has tagged me in a meme, which no one EVEH does. And since I am on migraine meds, enjoy the fun. It’s like giving me truth serum.

Do you nap? Yes, but it often gives me a headache or weird dreams. Recently I dreamed I was on the Rock of STD Bus with Bret Michaels. My husband already knows.

What was the last thing you bought? The latest Knit Simple (had some cute tops featuring yarn I have in stash) and the graphic novel Fagin the Jew by Will Eisner. Because I like Will Eisner’s work, and want to know how “the dude” kept it kosher in Victoria.
graphic

What are you listening to right now? The sound of silence. But I am not Garfunkling.

What is your favourite weather? Cool and calm. But no wind, please. Messes the hair.

What’s on your bedside table? A doily my mother crocheted, a lamp from Pier 1, two books and a clock.

What are you currently reading? The Windflower by Sharon and Tom Curtis, b/c I’ve had it in my pile for years, and according to half.com, I can get upwards of $20 for it.

Name the things you can’t live without. Migraine meds, food, water, love and attention.

What would you like to have in your hands right now? A decent job, an explanation why and a big giant…Rock of Love Bus.

What is your favourite tea flavour? Rooibos – the Celestial Seasons one with the big lion on the box.

What would you like to get rid of? An extra 10 lbs. and my endless tape loop of questions on “why.”

What is your favorite scent of candle? The Yankee Candle Company’s Clean Linen.

What did you want to become as a child? A writer.

What’s your favorite brand of jeans? American Eagle Outfitters, I think? The kind marked “short,” for midgets like me.

Say something to the person/s who tagged you: Gina, you help get me through the days in my velvet cage. Thank you.

I’m tagging fellow curly girl Bonnie and my partner in crime Marce, if’n they’re interested. If not, carry on, ladies. I’m going to my folks for a dual birthday celebration (dad and husband) tomorrow. Fried chicken and chicken fried gravy = heaven.

Lost in Dickens

I’ve been spending my day working on projects to put in the Etsy store to fill it up so I can make a few sales while I work on my other project due at the end of April. After that, who knows, maybe its time to actually find a big-girl job. Mayhap they are hiring chimney sweeps?

Today, I watched my TiVoed Masterpiece Theatre Oliver Twist from February while waiting for part 2 of Masterpiece Theatre’s Bleak House circa 2005 with Gillian Anderson (the ONLY Lady Dedlock!) to arrive so that I could watch THAT, return it and watch my TiVoed Masterpiece Theatre Little Dorrit from this past Sunday. Are you following me?

Total disclosure and honest to God truth: if I ever conceive a child and become a mother, I have always planned on naming the child, who will of course be a GIRL, either Dorrit or Fagin. My husband is well aware of this rule.

Discuss.

Here’s what I finished: An upcycled hat I’m calling The Artful Dodgette, in honor of that bad boy scamp Jack Dawkins. La, he’s bad, but I loves him. So much more fun than that little moppet Oliver. I like a boy with some spark and flash! Details in the captions.

If you tell me this looks like the hat Frosty the Snowman wore in that abominable cartoon, I will slap you.

If you tell me this looks like the hat Frosty the Snowman wore in that abominable cartoon, I will slap you.


Here's a closeup: Hat is vintage (20 years old) Italian wool bucket/trilby combo. Cleaned and steam-blocked. Flower pin also upcycled.

Here's a closeup: Hat is vintage (20 years old) Italian wool bucket/trilby combo. Cleaned and steam-blocked. Flower pin also upcycled.


Yarn deets: One ball of Lana Grossa's new Linnea Pura Flora, a butter soft organic cotton DK weight. Gift from a sweet yarn rep I will never see again.

Yarn deets: One ball of Lana Grossa's new Linnea Pura Flora, a butter soft organic cotton DK weight. Gift from a sweet yarn rep I will never see again.


Front view of hat and band: Simple feather and fan is so comforting, and the hat is very moldable, as you can see.

Front view of hat and band: Simple feather and fan is so comforting, and the hat is very moldable, as you can see.


So there you have it, guv. This will be going in the shop over the weekend, but really, it needs to have someone modelling it. Someone like this Artful Dodger, see?

(And btw, you really should check out Oliver Twist, the 2007 version — I think I’ve seen every adaption of Twist possible, and I quite enjoyed this update, though it did take some plot liberties. Sophie Okenedo was a heartbreaking Nancy — one of my favorite characters in fiction.

Again, total disclosure true story: When I had my wisdom teeth taken out the summer after college, I sat, drugged, in the dentist’s chair, blood and cotton in my mouth, singing show tunes from the musical Oliver!, as the dental assistants brought in two women from the local correctional institute (in leg and arm chains) and their guards to laugh at the crazy girl with the swollen face who was singing like a fool. I can only hope I made those women’s stays in prison a leetle brighter.
twist